Using Finder Integration

When Finder Integration is enabled, Keep It's files will appear as a location in the Finder's sidebar, as well as in the Finder's Go menu, and standard Open and Save dialogs.

To see Keep It’s files in the Finder:

Finder integration is comprehensive. When you add, move, rename, tag or remove files in that location, those changes will be reflected in Keep It. Items and folders in Deleted Items will be shown in the system Trash, and moving files or folders to the Trash will move them to Deleted Items in Keep It. Emptying the Trash will remove the corresponding items from Keep It also.

Shared folders that you do not own, or items in shared folders that you do not own, cannot be moved in the Finder. Also, attempting to remove an item from a remote shared folder will delete the file immediately rather than move it to the Trash—a warning will be displayed.

Aliases and symbolic links cannot be added to Keep It whether or not Finder integration is in use.

Enabling Finder Integration

Finder Integration is enabled by default in libraries created by Keep It 2.0 and later. To enable Finder integration:

Depending on the number of items in your library, the Finder may take some time to show the files as downloaded, even though they can be accessed in Keep It.

Disabling Finder Integration

Finder Integration can also be disabled. In this case, you must use Keep It to manage your files in most cases.

To disable Finder integration:

Optional Downloads

When using iCloud, Keep It always downloads the content of files by default, but this can be changed in Advanced settings: